Last Updated: April 23, 2024

The Most Effective Sleep Supplements in 2023

Discover the most effective sleep supplements to fall asleep fast, rise with energy and more!

Did you know? Almost a third of American adults say they suffer from sleep deprivation. The truth is, if you are having difficulty getting a good nights sleep, you are far from alone. With a problem this common, one would assume there are endless solutions. The good news is, there are a few products on the market that can help. The bad news? There are infinitely more products which deliver nothing but empty promises.

A good quality sleep supplement could benefit your immune system, stress levels, weight management and help you get the shut eye you need to be at your best.

However, not all supplements are created equal and we break down below what to look for and our Top 5 Recommended Sleep Supplements. 

#1 Sleep Aid

Noobru Lucid

  • Deepens Restorative Sleep Phases, Ensuring Full Physical Recovery.
  • Enhances REM Sleep, Boosting Dream Vividity and Memory Recall.
  • Regulates Sleep-Wake Cycle, Aligning You with Nature’s Rhythms.
  • Reduces Night-time Awakenings, Promoting Uninterrupted Slumber.
  • Helps Maintain Optimal Sleep Temperature for Maximum Comfort.
  • Diminishes Sleep-related Discomforts like Restlessness and Tossing.
  • Natural Sleep Booster – No Dependence or Unwanted Side Effects.
  • Creates a Calmer Mind, Reducing Night-time Anxieties & Worries.
  • Supports Healthy Circadian Rhythms, Ensuring Daytime Alertness and Night-time Relaxation.
  • Only Available in the US

9.9

5/5

Excellent

User ratings (13,354+)

2

Unisom Slumber

  • May support brain health
  • Contains Melatonin
  • Improves memory
  • Raspberry flavour
  • Mixed results

9.5

4.5/5

Very Good

3

Vicks Zzz Quil

  • Liquid form
  • Non habit forming
  • Berry flavour
  • Improved sharpness
  • Alcohol Free
  • Bitter taste

9.3

4.5/5

Very Good

4

Alteril Sleep Aid

  • All natural ingredients
  • Induce and improve sleep
  • No side effects
  • Non-habit forming
  • Unpleasant taste and smell
  • May cause drowsiness

9.0

4/5

Good

5

Liquid I.V Sleep Multiplier

  • Contains Melatonin
  • Blueberry Lavender Flavour
  • Improves sleep quality
  • All natural ingredients
  • Unpleasant taste
  • Mixed results

8.9

4/5

Good

Overall Ranking: A+

Overall Ranking

A+

User Ratings

9.9/10

5/5

(4622 votes)

THE RESULTS

Say goodbye to restless nights with Noobru Lucid! Our team has given this product a big thumbs up after trying it out.

First things first, we were pleased to see that Noobru Lucid is made from entirely natural ingredients. Being sugar-free and non-GMO, it assures us of its safety and effectiveness.

Within just a few nights of using it, our testers reported a noticeable improvement in their sleep. They mentioned waking up feeling more refreshed and less groggy, with many saying they slept through the night without disruptions.

Additionally, many of our testers appreciated the enhanced quality of their REM sleep. They felt more rested and alert in the morning, a clear indication of a good night’s sleep.

The calming effect of Noobru Lucid before bedtime was another highlight. Many testers felt more relaxed and ready for sleep after taking it.

Overall, with its promise of better sleep, its natural ingredients, and its affordable price, Noobru Lucid is a solid recommendation for those looking to improve their nighttime rest.

Improved Sleep

9.9/10

Enhanced Mood

9.9/10

Taste

9.8/10

Value for Money

9.9/10

Customer Reviews

9.9/10

PROS

  • Deepens Restorative Sleep Phases, Ensuring Full Physical Recovery.
  • Enhances REM Sleep, Boosting Dream Vividity and Memory Recall.
  • Regulates Sleep-Wake Cycle, Aligning You with Nature’s Rhythms.
  • Reduces Night-time Awakenings, Promoting Uninterrupted Slumber.
  • Helps Maintain Optimal Sleep Temperature for Maximum Comfort.
  • Diminishes Sleep-related Discomforts like Restlessness and Tossing.
  • Natural Sleep Booster – No Dependence or Unwanted Side Effects.
  • Creates a Calmer Mind, Reducing Night-time Anxieties & Worries.
  • Supports Healthy Circadian Rhythms, Ensuring Daytime Alertness and Night-time Relaxation.

CONS

  • Frequently Sells Out

THE BOTTOM LINE

10 out of 10 on all our tests! The product is all-natural, tastes great, and delivers exactly what it claims to. With so many natural ingredients and powerful memory booster components, Noobru had to be our number 1 choice.

Limited time discount:

Save up to 70% OFF your first order

2. Unisom Slumber

Overall Ranking: A

Overall Ranking

A

User Ratings

8.3/10

3.7/5

(2452 votes)

THE RESULTS

We’ve seen this product around for a while, so we had to include it in our testing process.

If you’re not a fan of sachets or tablets, these chewable gummies may be for you. The raspberry flavour could be stronger but at least it isn’t too overwhelming.

Over a period of a couple of weeks were did find the gummies to be a bit ‘hit and miss’. We did get a couple of great nights’ sleep and felt refreshed and ready to go the next day. But we also still had some restlessness and broken sleep during the testing period.

Improved Sleep

8.2/10

Enhanced Mood

8.4/10

Taste

7.0/10

Value for Money

6.5/10

Customer Reviews

7.8/10

PROS

  • May support brain health
  • Drug free sleep aid
  • Contains Melatonin
  • Improves memory
  • Raspberry flavour

CONS

  • Mixed Reviews

THE BOTTOM LINE

If you find it difficult to take tablets or drinking sachets isn’t for you, these gummies are great. The only thing we did find was that the gummies didn’t deliver every time. We still had some restless nights and woke knowing we hadn’t had the best night’s sleep.

3. Vicks Zzz Quil

Overall Ranking: B

Overall Ranking

B

User Ratings

7.5/10

3.4/5

(1535 votes)

THE RESULTS

We’ve all heard of Vicks; they have an abundance of products currently available on the market, so we had to test them.

Our first impression wasn’t the best when we tasted the product. It’s very bitter and may put a lot of users off.

However, the product is pretty effective. We did find that we had improved sleep and woke up feeling ready for the day. Again, this wasn’t the most reliable product, some nights it worked, and some nights we noticed no change at all and still had restless sleep.

Improved Sleep

8.2/10

Enhanced Mood

8.0/10

Taste

6.0/10

Value for Money

7.0/10

Customer Reviews

7.5/10

PROS

  • Liquid form
  • Non habit forming
  • Berry flavour
  • Improves sharpness
  • Alcohol Free

CONS

  • Bitter taste

THE BOTTOM LINE

Hit and miss – sums this one up. Whilst we did get great sleep occasionally, it didn’t help every time. The bitter taste is also a lot to stomach and if you have sensitive taste buds this might not be the product for you.

4. Alteril Sleep Aid

Overall Ranking: C+

Overall Ranking

C+

User Ratings

9.7/10

3.5/5

(4614 votes)

THE RESULTS

On first impressions when opening the product, we were hit with a rather overwhelming unpleasant smell.

Unfortunately, the taste of the tablets is equally as unpleasant on the tongue. However, if you can get over the pungent smell and taste, the product does deliver the desired effect. We found we had great sleep, but we did suffer from drowsiness on some of the test days.

Improved Sleep

9.0/10

Enhanced Mood

8.7/10

Taste

8.8/10

Value for Money

7.0/10

Customer Reviews

9.0/10

PROS

  • All natural ingredients
  • Induce and improve sleep
  • No side effects
  • Non-habit forming

CONS

  • Unpleasant taste and smell
  • May cause drowsiness

THE BOTTOM LINE

Whilst we were initially impressed put off with the smell and taste of the product, we did get a few nights of really good sleep. However, we did suffer with some drowsiness on a couple of the test days.

5. Liquid IV Sleep Multiplier

Overall Ranking: C

Overall Ranking

C

User Ratings

8.1/10

3.4/5

(1540 votes)

THE RESULTS

We had to test this one out. We had heard that there were mixed reviews, so we were looking forward to trying it for ourselves.

On testing the product we did find the taste unpleasant. Fortunately, it isn’t a lingering taste so it wouldn’t stop you from using the product. This was another product that left is disappointed on occasion. We found that it definitely helped us relax but didn’t send us off to sleep. Some nights there was no effect at all.

Improved Sleep

8.2/10

Enhanced Mood

8.0/10

Taste

6.0/10

Value for Money

7.0/10

Customer Reviews

7.5/10

PROS

  • Contains Melatonin
  • Blueberry Lavender Flavour
  • Improves sleep quality
  • All natural ingredients

CONS

  • Unpleasant taste
  • Mixed results

THE BOTTOM LINE

Whilst we were initially impressed with the product’s effectiveness, this didn’t last long. Whilst we felt calmer at night time, it didn’t send us off into the slumber we expected. The taste is also something that you will have to become accustomed to.

Top Choice 2023

Overall Ranking: A+

Overall Ranking

A+

User Ratings

9.9/10

5/5

(4622 votes)

THE RESULTS

Say goodbye to restless nights with Noobru Lucid! Our team has given this product a big thumbs up after trying it out.

First things first, we were pleased to see that Noobru Lucid is made from entirely natural ingredients. Being sugar-free and non-GMO, it assures us of its safety and effectiveness.

Within just a few nights of using it, our testers reported a noticeable improvement in their sleep. They mentioned waking up feeling more refreshed and less groggy, with many saying they slept through the night without disruptions.

Additionally, many of our testers appreciated the enhanced quality of their REM sleep. They felt more rested and alert in the morning, a clear indication of a good night’s sleep.

The calming effect of Noobru Lucid before bedtime was another highlight. Many testers felt more relaxed and ready for sleep after taking it.

Overall, with its promise of better sleep, its natural ingredients, and its affordable price, Noobru Lucid is a solid recommendation for those looking to improve their nighttime rest.

  • Deepens Restorative Sleep Phases, Ensuring Full Physical Recovery.
  • Enhances REM Sleep, Boosting Dream Vividity and Memory Recall.
  • Regulates Sleep-Wake Cycle, Aligning You with Nature’s Rhythms.
  • Reduces Night-time Awakenings, Promoting Uninterrupted Slumber.
  • Helps Maintain Optimal Sleep Temperature for Maximum Comfort.
  • Diminishes Sleep-related Discomforts like Restlessness and Tossing.
  • Natural Sleep Booster – No Dependence or Unwanted Side Effects.
  • Creates a Calmer Mind, Reducing Night-time Anxieties & Worries.
  • Supports Healthy Circadian Rhythms, Ensuring Daytime Alertness and Night-time Relaxation.

Improved Sleep

9.9/10

Enhanced Mood

9.9/10

Taste

9.8/10

Value for Money

9.9/10

Customer Reviews

9.9/10

PROS

  • Deepens Restorative Sleep Phases, Ensuring Full Physical Recovery.
  • Enhances REM Sleep, Boosting Dream Vividity and Memory Recall.
  • Regulates Sleep-Wake Cycle, Aligning You with Nature’s Rhythms.
  • Reduces Night-time Awakenings, Promoting Uninterrupted Slumber.
  • Helps Maintain Optimal Sleep Temperature for Maximum Comfort.
  • Diminishes Sleep-related Discomforts like Restlessness and Tossing.
  • Natural Sleep Booster – No Dependence or Unwanted Side Effects.
  • Creates a Calmer Mind, Reducing Night-time Anxieties & Worries.
  • Supports Healthy Circadian Rhythms, Ensuring Daytime Alertness and Night-time Relaxation.

CONS

  • Frequently Sells Out

THE BOTTOM LINE

10 out of 10 on all our tests! The product is all-natural, tastes great, and delivers exactly what it claims to. With so many natural ingredients and powerful memory booster components, Noobru had to be our number 1 choice.

Limited time discount:

Save up to 70% OFF your first order

Best Sleep Aids of 2023 Buying Guide

In a world where people are constantly on the go and struggling to sleep – sleep aids have become more and more popular. There are 1000’s of different brands, tablets, gummies, sachets, and liquids etc. so it can be difficult to know what works best.
  
We have tried most of the brands available, from some of the more well-known brands to some of the lesser brands making their way into the market. Whilst all deliver in different ways, some deliver on all aspects. Read our guide on the benefits of sleep aids and a few tips to help you decide on the best ones for you.

It is also advisable to seek advice from your doctor before taking any kind of supplements if you are taking other medications.

Benefits of Sleep Aids

There are many benefits to sleep aids. Sleep is the best way to reset your body and mind and help you get ready for a new day.

If you are struggling to sleep, this can affect everything in your day from your work, your relationships, and your mood. Sleep aids can help improve your health, energy levels, and mood – whilst reducing stress by allowing you to get the rest you need.

What To Look For In Sleep Aids?

  • Natural Ingredients
    Look for products that only include natural or herbal ingredients and are free from harmful chemicals or synthetic ingredients.
  • Reputable Companies
    We also recommend only buying products from reputable companies that are transparent about their ingredients and manufacturing processes.

What To Avoid In Avoid in Sleep Aids?

Make sure that the product doesn’t contain addictive stimulants such as caffeine, as these can be habit forming which can be detrimental to your health.

We also recommend avoiding products that contain artificial sweeteners or sugar substitutes.

You should also be wary of any products that may affect prescription medications. Look out for products that include antihistamines as these can cause drowsiness which may affect your ability to perform tasks such as driving.

Do Sleep Aids Work?

Sleep aids can be used as part of a holistic approach to addressing insomnia and other sleep issues such as restlessness etc.

They can help to improve your quality of sleep and can also support relaxation and overall sleep quality in most people.

Are Sleep Aids Safe To Use?

Sleep aids that contain natural ingredients are safe to use.

However, you should always check with your doctor that the ingredients contained within the products are safe to use if you are taking prescribed medication or have any medical conditions.

Can Sleep Aids Be Used If Pregnant?

Sleep aids, natural or not, should not be used by pregnant women.

They could be potentially harmful to both you and your child and you should consult your doctor or physician if you are having issues sleeping before taking any over the counter medications or supplements.

Are Sleep Aids Calming To Use?

Yes! Good Sleep Aids can be calming to use.

They can help to reduce stress and anxiety which helps to promote better wellbeing and easier sleeping.

Top Choice 2023

Noobru Lucid

  • Deepens Restorative Sleep Phases, Ensuring Full Physical Recovery.
  • Enhances REM Sleep, Boosting Dream Vividity and Memory Recall.
  • Regulates Sleep-Wake Cycle, Aligning You with Nature’s Rhythms.
  • Reduces Night-time Awakenings, Promoting Uninterrupted Slumber.
  • Helps Maintain Optimal Sleep Temperature for Maximum Comfort.
  • Diminishes Sleep-related Discomforts like Restlessness and Tossing.
  • Natural Sleep Booster – No Dependence or Unwanted Side Effects.
  • Creates a Calmer Mind, Reducing Night-time Anxieties & Worries.
  • Supports Healthy Circadian Rhythms, Ensuring Daytime Alertness and Night-time Relaxation.
  • Only Available in the US

9.9

5/5

Excellent

User ratings (13,354+)

Jessica Jones – Senior Health Expert Editor

Jessica is a knowledgeable dietitian and accredited wellness mentor residing in California, who has been sharing insights on health products for more than four years, amassing a substantial following that is devoted to her blog. Outside of examining health items, Jessica takes pleasure in discovering nearby farmer’s markets and cultivating her own organic produce.